Mid-week Update – Staying the Course

So about this time (after three weeks of reasonable success) is when most “diet” plans start to fail. Excessively restricting your caloric intake isn’t a recipe for success. Eventually, most people give in (because – news flash – we need to eat), and it’s usually not a healthy choice. That’s the big difference between “dieting” and changing your diet.

The word “diet” has been sadly corrupted by the weightloss industry. If you look up “diet” in the dictionary, you will find that its definition is “the type of food a person, animal, or community typically eats”. The use of “diet” as a verb to describe a restrictive eating plan is secondary. If you think of dieting that way – as an action you are doing – then if (when) you break down and eat an entire tray of cookies (not that I am speaking from recent, personal experience), your brain perceives failure: you have failed in dieting. The law of inertia applies to your frame of mind just as surely as it applies to anything else; once you perceive yourself as having failed, it’s much easier to keep on failing. That, in a nutshell, is why dieting doesn’t work – a fact the weightloss industry relies on.

On the other hand, if you change your diet, you can also change how you perceive food. I mentioned in a previous entry that it’s important to think of food as fuel, not as entertainment. The quality of fuel you put into your body will have a direct effect on the quality of performance you get out of it. That’s why, when I ate an entire tray of cookies (ok I’m exaggerating but I did eat five), I didn’t leap immediately into the “Well, I’ve already messed up, might as well break out the chips and chocolate bars” mentality. Instead, I noticed the fact that my body reacted immediately to the intake of processed sugar with increased thirst, reduced concentration, and a migraine that I would much prefer never to have experienced. I came to the conclusion that I’d rather not feel that way, and continued on with my healthy eating plan – my changed diet.

It sure doesn’t hurt that I’ve had several comments in the last couple of days from people who say they’re starting to see the difference in my appearance. I don’t see it yet, but if you do, I must be doing something right!

See you on Sunday with a stats update!

About alannahmeghan

I am getting married in December, and have started this blog to help me get in shape and lose weight!

One response to “Mid-week Update – Staying the Course”

  1. Liette says :

    You’re doing soooo well! Keep plucking away! I believe in YOU! And chances are, when you get gussied up for the play tonight, you’ll notice a difference in the way your dressy clothes fit 😉 LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

